Searching over 5,500,000 cases.


searching
Buy This Entire Record For $7.95

Official citation and/or docket number and footnotes (if any) for this case available with purchase.

Learn more about what you receive with purchase of this case.

In re KLA-Tencor Corp. Shareholder Derivative Litigation

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA SAN JOSE DIVISION


November 3, 2009

IN RE KLA-TENCOR CORP. SHAREHOLDER DERIVATIVE LITIGATION

The opinion of the court was delivered by: The Honorable James Ware United States District Judge

This Document Relates To: ALL ACTIONS.

PLAINTIFF AND KLA-TENCOR CORP.'S SECOND STATUS REPORT REGARDING SETTLEMENT AND [PROPOSED] ORDER FURTHER EXTENDING THE TIME FOR FILING AN AMENDED COMPLAINT

Pursuant to the Court's October 22, 2009 stipulation and order extending the date for filing an amended complaint, plaintiff and KLA-Tencor Corp. ("KLA") hereby submit this Second Status Report Regarding Settlement and [Proposed] Order Further Extending the Time for Filing an Amended Complaint.

As previously reported, on October 14, 2009, plaintiff, nominal party KLA, insurance carriers and certain of the individual defendants who had not yet reached an agreement in principle to settle the claims alleged in the above-referenced case, participated in a 14-hour mediation session with Hon. Layn Phillips (ret.) in New York. On October 16, 2009, Judge Phillips issued a mediator's proposal setting a response date of October 27, 2009, and asked that the parties reserve all responses until that date.

While the October 16, 2009 mediator's proposal did not result in a global settlement agreement, the proposal served to substantially narrow the issues in dispute between the remaining parties. Judge Phillips is continuing to advance toward global resolution of the claims asserted in the action and has requested that the parties maintain the status quo because he has scheduled another mediation for November 19, 2009 to convene the relevant remaining parties who have not yet reached agreement in principle to settle the claims alleged.

Accordingly, KLA and plaintiff, after conferring with, and at the request of, Judge Phillips, respectfully request for an extension of the deadline for the filing of lead plaintiff's amended complaint to November 23, 2009. Judge Philips has indicated that he is available to discuss this matter further with the Court, should the Court so desire.

DATED: October 30, 2009

COUGHLIN STOIA GELLER RUDMAN & ROBBINS LLP SHAWN A. WILLIAMS CHRISTOPHER M. WOOD

SHAWN A. WILLIAMS 100 Pine Street, Suite 2600 San Francisco, CA 94111 Telephone: 415/288-4545 415/288-4534 (fax)

COUGHLIN STOIA GELLER RUDMAN & ROBBINS LLP TRAVIS E. DOWNS III BENNY C. GOODMAN III LUCAS F. OLTS 655 West Broadway, Suite 1900 San Diego, CA 92101-3301 Telephone: 619/231-1058 619/231-7423 (fax) Lead Counsel for Plaintiffs

MORGAN, LEWIS & BOCKIUS LLP JOSEPH E. FLOREN JOHN H. HEMANN THOMAS R. GREEN JOSEPH E. FLOREN Spear Street Tower One Market Plaza, 23rd Floor San Francisco, CA 94105 Telephone: 415/442-1000 415/442-1001 (fax) Attorneys for KLA-Tencor Corp.

I, Shawn A. Williams, am the ECF User whose ID and password are being used to file this Plaintiff and KLA-Tencor Corp.'s Status Report Regarding Settlement and [Proposed] Order Further

Extending the Time for Filing an Amended Complaint. In compliance with General Order 45, X.B., I hereby attest that Joseph E. Floren has concurred in this filing.

DATED: October 30, 2009

SHAWN A. WILLIAMS

ORDER

The deadline for filing of lead plaintiff's amended complaint shall be extended until November 23, 2009.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on October 30, 2009, I electronically filed the foregoing with the Clerk of the Court using the CM/ECF system which will send notification of such filing to the e-mail addresses denoted on the attached Electronic Mail Notice List, and I hereby certify that I have mailed the foregoing document or paper via the United States Postal Service to the non-CM/ECF participants indicated on the attached Manual Notice List.

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United States of America that the foregoing is true and correct. Executed on October 30, 2009.

SHAWN A. WILLIAMS COUGHLIN STOIA GELLER RUDMAN & ROBBINS LLP 100 Pine Street, 26th Floor San Francisco, CA 94111 Telephone: 415/288-4545 415/288-4534 (fax) E-mail: shawnw@csgrr.com

Mailing Information for a Case 5:06-cv-03445-JW

Electronic Mail Notice List

The following are those who are currently on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case.

[circle6] Christopher J. Banks cbanks@morganlewis.com,cericson@morganlewis.com

[circle6] Paul F. Bennett pfb@gbcslaw.com,cgw@gbcslaw.com

[circle6] Brad D. Brian BrianBD@mto.com

[circle6] Walter F. Brown wbrown@orrick.com,awills@orrick.com

[circle6] Michelle Park Chiu mchiu@morganlewis.com,cholsome@morganlewis.com

[circle6] Jeffrey Bruce Coopersmith jeff.coopersmith@dlapiper.com

[circle6] Megan Dixon mdixon@hhlaw.com,mhoogland@hhlaw.com,mdewers@hhlaw.com,kwong@hhlaw.com

[circle6] Travis E. Downs , III travisd@csgrr.com,e_file_sd@csgrr.com

[circle6] Miles F. Ehrlich miles@ramsey-ehrlich.com,ji-ea@ramsey-ehrlich.com,andrew@ramsey-ehrlich.com,milesmf@yahoo.com

[circle6] Joseph Edward Floren jfloren@morganlewis.com,rluke@morganlewis.com

[circle6] Jonathan B. Gaskin jgaskin@orrick.com,mticzon@orrick.com

[circle6] Thomas R. Green thomas.green@usdoj.gov,daniel.charlier-smith@usdoj.gov

[circle6] Emily Victoria Griffen egriffen@shearman.com

[circle6] Felicia Gross felicia@ramsey-ehrlich.com

[circle6] Tera Marie Heintz theintz@morganlewis.com,eeberline@morganlewis.com

[circle6] Alice L. Jensen ajensen@fenwick.com,cprocida@fenwick.com

[circle6] Geoffrey M. Johnson gjohnson@scott-scott.com,aslaughter@scott-scott.com

[circle6] Steven Shea Kaufhold skaufhold@akingump.com,westdocketing@akingump.com,smartinson@akingump.com

[circle6] Thomas Samuel Kimbrell thomas.kimbrell@hellerehrman.com,dcdocket@hellerehrman.com,reggie.payne@hellerehrman.com

[circle6] Dean S. Kristy dkristy@fenwick.com,kayoung@fenwick.com,cprocida@fenwick.com

[circle6] Nicole Catherine Lavallee nlavallee@bermandevalerio.com,ysoboleva@bermandevalerio.com

[circle6] James Raza Lawrence Raza.Lawrence@mto.com,Sharon.Nial@mto.com

[circle6] Joseph Daniel Lee joseph.lee@mto.com

[circle6] James Elliot Lyons jlyons@skadden.com,David.Zygarewicz@skadden.com,wacampbe@skadden.com,michael.troost@skadden.com,btravagl@skadden.com

[circle6] Liwen Arius Mah lmah@fenwick.com,docketcalendarrequests@fenwick.com,rjones@fenwick.com,kragab@fenwick.com,jphan@fenwick.com

[circle6] Ryan David Marsh rdmarsh@hhlaw.com,dylewis@hhlaw.com,kwong@hhlaw.com

https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?64700250402537-L_170_0-1 10/30/2009

[circle6] Craig David Martin cmartin@mofo.com

[circle6] Lanelle Kay Meidan lanelle.meidan@skadden.com

[circle6] Timothy Alan Miller tmiller@skadden.com,michael.troostt@skadden.com,PLOCKWOO@skadden.com,elanders@skadden.com,wacampbe@skadden.com,RHORVATH@skadden.com,mborden@skadden.com

[circle6] Kevin Peter Muck kmuck@fenwick.com,cprocida@fenwick.com

[circle6] Lucas F. Olts luke.olts@bullivant.com

[circle6] Leigh Anne Parker lparker@weisslurie.com

[circle6] Warrington S. Parker , III wparker@orrick.com

[circle6] David Allen Priebe david.priebe@dlapiper.com,margaret.austin@dlapiper.com,stacy.murray@dlapiper.com

[circle6] Ismail Jomo Ramsey izzy@ramsey-ehrlich.com,ji-ea@ramsey-ehrlich.com,miles@ramsey-ehrlich.com

[circle6] Patrick David Robbins probbins@shearman.com,rcheatham@shearman.com

[circle6] David R. Scott drscott@scott-scott.com

[circle6] Michael Todd Scott tscott@orrick.com,elee@orrick.com

[circle6] Michael J. Shepard mjshepard@hhlaw.com,mdewers@hhlaw.com,kwong@hhlaw.com

[circle6] Arthur L. Shingler , III ashingler@scott-scott.com,ssawyer@scott-scott.com

[circle6] Benjamin Patrick Smith bpsmith@morganlewis.com,ewoodward@morganlewis.com

[circle6] Robert P. Varian rvarian@orrick.com,bclarke@orrick.com

[circle6] Matthew S. Weiler mweiler@morganlewis.com

[circle6] Shirli Fabbri Weiss shirli.weiss@dlapiper.com

[circle6] Shawn A. Williams shawnw@csgrr.com,jdecena@csgrr.com,khuang@csgrr.com,e_file_sf@csgrr.com,cwood@csgrr.com,lolts@csgrr.com,travisd@csgrr.com,e_file_sd@csgrr.com

[circle6] Christopher Martin Wood cwood@csgrr.com,aserros@csgrr.com,jdecena@csgrr.com,khuang@csgrr.com

[circle6] Denise V. Zamore dzamore@scott-scott.com,cmcgowan@scott-scott.com

Manual Notice List

The following is the list of attorneys who are not on the list to receive e-mail notices for this case (who therefore require manual noticing). You may wish to use your mouse to select and copy this list into your word processing program in order to create notices or labels for these recipients.

Mark A. Belnick Law Offices of Mark A. Belnick, LLC 120 West 45th Street Suite 1700B New York, NY 10036

https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/MailList.pl?64700250402537-L_170_0-1 10/30/2009

20091103

© 1992-2009 VersusLaw Inc.



Buy This Entire Record For $7.95

Official citation and/or docket number and footnotes (if any) for this case available with purchase.

Learn more about what you receive with purchase of this case.